38th Annual Territorial New Years Party

As the old year was ending in ancient times in Hawaii, Kahuna associated with certain he’eiau on the Western side of each inhabited Hawaiian island would watch for the appearance of “Na Huihui o Makali’i”, a star cluster that appears in the evening sky.
Once “Makali’i” was seen, the next new moon would begin the “Makahiki” season, a 4-month period when warfare was prohibited, and people celebrated with games and sports.
When Westerners arrived with their tradition of the New Year’s celebration, it coincided with the Hawaiians practice of Makahiki.
Thus, “Hau’oli Makahiki Hou” now says “Happy New Year!”
Today, we’ll spin some lyrical libations, as we share our 38th annual Territorial New Year’s Party.

This week's playlist:

1- Hau’oli Makahiki Hou – Genoa Keawe
2- Tahuwahuwahi – Johnny Spencer
3- Come My House – Linda Dela Cruz
4- Okole Maluna – Andy Iona
5- Koni Au I Ka Wai – Harry Owens
6- A Wee Doech An’ Doris – Sol K. Bright
7- Let’s Go For Broke – Andy Iona
8- I’m Pau – Dick McIntire
9- Pau Pilikia – Ernest Tavares
10- Okolehao Blues – Norman Clarke
11- Auld Lang Syne – Leo Nahenahe Singers

Length: 56:02
Released on: 12-30-2016
Artist/Compiled by: Various Artists

Back to All Shows

Territorial Airwaves Web Disclaimer | Territorial Airwaves Marks
Territorial Airwaves Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Sitemap
All Rights Reserved. Territorial Airwaves.